Slide

The Infos. For Everything.

20.000 Squaremeterpossibilities

Good to know

Welcome to St. Jakobshalle Basel. You will find everything you need to know about our venue on this page.

Great Highlights. For Everyone.

Whether it’s big concerts, exciting sporting events or cool happenings: St. Jakobshalle Basel spares no effort to bring unique highlights to Basel and thus ensure unforgettable moments.

St. Jakobshalle - Publikum

St. Jakobshalle Basel itself does not organise any events, but offers the logistical prerequisites and the technical know-how for large and small productions to be able to operate as a competent partner for external organisers and event planners. This also includes ensuring that you feel safe as part of the audience, are well catered for and can enjoy every event at the St. Jakobshalle Basel as a fan. Further information on the individual events can be found on the websites of the respective organisers.

To stay up to date, just check us out on Instagram and Facebook. There, we will be happy to exchange ideas with you, inform you about the latest news and, if possible, give away tickets for selected events.

You can find out how it all began and who has already been our guest on this page in the chapters «History» and «Hall of Fame».

Contact

St. Jakobshalle Basel
St. Jakobs-Strasse 390, CH-4052 Basel
+41 61 317 82 22
StJakobshalle@bs.ch

Opening Hours

Administration
Monday-Friday: 09:00-12:00 / 13:30-16:00

Sports Facilities
Monday-Friday: 08:00-22:00
Saturday/Sunday: 08:00-17:00

Closed Days in 2022
Closed Days in 2023

Are you interested in booking an event at St. Jakobshalle Basel? For a first inquiry please use the Contact Form in the promoter section.

General Information

VAT Number
CHE-114.723.789 MWST.

Postal Account
Account Number 40-20343-7
IBAN CH64 0900 0000 4002 0343 7

Bank Account
UBS Switzerland AG | 4410 Liestal
Account Number 233-10314838.0
IBAN CH73 0023 3233 1031 4838 0
BIC: UBSWCHZH80A

The regulations on video surveillance apply on the premises of the St. Jakobshalle Basel.

Newsletter

Don’t miss anything and always stay up to date: Simply subscribe to our newsletter – and you will get all the good news first.

Fields marked with * are mandatory. Your data is treated confidentially and will not be passed on to third parties.

Entrances

For public events, the main entrance is located directly at the «Basel St Jakob» stop on tram line number 14. Further information regarding public transport can be found on the website of the Basler Verkehrsbetriebe BVB as well as in the chapter How to find us. Depending on the type of event, additional entrances may be available; these will be signposted accordingly.

You can reach the sports halls and our administration at the back entrance of St. Jakobshalle Basel. The reception is located on the ground floor.

How to find us

St. Jakobshalle Basel is located on the south-eastern edge of the City of Basel and is easily accessible both by public transport as well as private vehicles. Parking spaces are available at St. Jakob Car Park.

Arrival by Car

Take the A2 motorway, direction of Basel. You will pass through the «Schweizerhalle» gallery. Attention: There is a danger of tailbacks. Follow the signs for «Delémont». Take the exit «Basel-St. Jakob». Always follow the signs for «Basel-St. Jakob». After the motorway exit, you will come to a set of traffic lights. Keep to the left. Follow the signs for «St. Jakobshalle» through the underpass. Turn right directly after that to reach St. Jakob Car Park.

Motorway J18 from Delémont, direction of Basel. Take the exit «Basel-St. Jakob/Muttenz-Industrie». After the exit, you will come to a set of traffic lights. Stay in the left lane. After turning left, drive past St. Jakobshalle Basel (which is on your left, St. Jakob-Park football stadium on your right). Stay in the left lane again. At the next set of traffic lights, turn left and follow the parking signs for St. Jakobshalle Basel.

Take the A5 motorway from Karlsruhe and Freiburg. You will arrive at the Weil am Rhein border crossing. Attention: Motorway toll sticker compulsory. After crossing the border, you will see the sign «St. Jakob». Follow the signs for «Luzern, Bern, Zürich, Delémont, Basel-Süd/St. Jakob». Take the exit «Basel-Süd/St. Jakob». Follow «Basel-St. Jakob» After the motorway exit you will come to a traffic light. Keep to the left. Follow the signs for «St. Jakobshalle» through the underpass. Turn right directly after that to reach St. Jakob Car Park.

Arrival by Public Transport

To Basel SBB (Switzerland) or Badischer Bahnhof (Germany). With half-hourly connections to and from Zurich (travelling time 60 minutes), Berne (80 minutes), Lucerne (80 minutes), St. Gallen (120 minutes) and hourly connections to and from Geneva (180 minutes). Find further information and connections at www.sbb.ch

The «St. Jakob» stop for tram line no. 14 and bus line no. 36 is located directly in front of St. Jakobshalle Basel. For more information regarding timetables and fares, visit www.bvb.ch

Take Tram no. 8,10 or 11 to «Aeschenplatz», then take tram line no. 14 to «St. Jakob» (travelling time 20 minutes).

Take bus line no. 36 (located in front of McDonald’s) to «St. Jakob» (travelling time 20 minutes).

Parking

In the rear area of the St. Jakobshalle Basel, there are 1.478 paid parking spaces available (424 of which are outside and 1.054 inside). The St. Jakob car park is operated by the Canton of Basel-Stadt and is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Further information on prices and how to get there can be found here.

In addition, St. Jakob-Park shopping centre located next door to our venue offers further 2.100 parking spaces. The entrance is open from Monday to Saturday from 06:00-01:00 and on Sunday from 08:00-01:00; the exit is possible at any time. Further information on prices and how to get there can be found here.

Wheelchairs

St. Jakobshalle Basel is partially accessible with wheelchairs. For our guests in wheelchairs, six disabled parking spaces are available at the outdoor car park close to the main entrance. There are also wheelchair toilets in the Foyer area with Eurokey.

Important: Wheelchair spaces may vary depending on the type of event; please refer to the ticket pre-sales section of the official organiser’s website for relevant information.

Prohibited Objects

We strive to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and safe at all times. Therefore, please observe our guidelines regarding prohibited items at the respective events. This also includes food and beverages.

You can download our info flyer here.


Backpacks, suitcases,
bags,
handbags,
larger than DIN A4


Photo, video and
digital cameras
as well as
audio devices,
selfie sticks,
GoPros etc.


PET containers,
cans,
glass bottles,
tetra packs,
beer kegs,
spray paint,
alcohol

Knives, weapons,
tear gas,
pepper sprays,
gas horns,
laser pointers,
fireworks
of any kind,
pyrotechnic
objects


Motorcycle
helmets,
flagpoles,
umbrellas (pocket
umbrellas allowed)


Animals

Lost and Found

Found valuables (no clothes etc.) from events and sports activities will be deposited at the reception until 14 days after the date of discovery. If you have any questions, please call +41 61 317 82 30. Subsequently, the objects will be forwarded to the lost and found office Baselland. The found objects are registered under this link.

Fundbüro und Verwertungsdienst des Kanons Basel-Landschaft
(Official Lost and Found Office of Canton Basel-Land)
Oristalstrasse 100
CH-4410 Liestal
+41 61 552 71 42
fundbuero@bl.ch

History

The foundations of St. Jakobshalle Basel were laid on the 19th of April 1971; it was officially opened on the 26th of September 1976. The striking building by architect Giovanni Panozzo and engineer Albert Schmidt was designed as part of a large sports complex south-east of the City of Basel. Located within immediate vicinity of St. Jakobshalle Basel is the St. Jakob-Park Football Stadium, the St. Jakob Ice Hockey Arena and the St. Jakob Sports Grounds.

• Deed of Foundations (19.04.1971)
• Construction Report, Schweizerische Bauzeitung (20.12.1974)
• Sports Hall St. Jakob in Basel (IABSE Periodica 2/1980)
• Obituary of Giovanni Panozzo (March 1983)

St. Jakobshalle Basel was exemplary at the time it was built. In the course of the last decades however, the type of events and subsequent requirements have changed considerably. In order to do justice to this new circumstance, St. Jakobshalle Basel has undergone several structural adaptations and changes. Since the architectural design of the building complex appeared indecisive, the external appearance was also to be subjected to critical examination. One problem arose with regard to the location of the main entrance: Brüglingerstrasse did not offer the required space and outdoor area for large events. The entrance from St. Jakobs-Strasse, which could provide the necessary access, looked like a side entrance and lacked generosity.

In the end, the County of Basel-Stadt decided to hold a competition to adapt to current needs for the existing building and the necessary adjustments in their entirety. In the jury report, it was suggested that «a more subtle approach to the expressive concrete-brick architecture in the sense of a monument preservation approach» should be examined during the revision.

The project competition for the renovation and modernisation of St. Jakobshalle Basel (preliminary project: 2013 / commissioning: October 2018) was decided. A more modern event hall was required, but solutions were also sought that would allow for a more multifunctional use. A Basel planning team solved this challenging task convincingly. The 1st prize went to Berrel Berrel Kräutler AG in collaboration with Degelo Architekten AG, Basel.

The task at hand was to solve all pending problems with the existing building structure, which was already statically exhausted at the time of its construction. Feasibility studies had already suggested ways of solving these problems. These were refined and elaborated in the ongoing project. The challenge was to develop the existing building by adding new parts and thus forming a modern, clear and strong identity. In doing so, the qualities of the existing building would be preserved and, in addition to the functional quality, the architectural quality would also be increased, so that a coherent overall appearance would emerge, as if constructed as such from its very beginnings.

The hall was given a new main entrance on St. Jakobs-Strasse and a spacious outdoor area. The street level was guided into the building via the newly created plaza. The generous roof emphasises the public function of the building, so that visitors can be received with dignity. On the outside, the roof created a sheltered vestibule outside and an enlarged foyer inside, providing logical access to all functions of the venue.

The project competition of the Building and Transport Department of the County of Basel-Stadt for the modernisation of the St. Jakobshalle called for a modern event hall on the one hand, and on the other hand, solutions were to be sought that would enable multifunctional use. The general planning team of Degelo Architekten AG, Basel, and Berrel Berrel Kräutler, Basel, convinced with their design «Giovanni» – a homage to the architect Giovanni Panozzo, who had once built the hall. It brings us full circle to the creation of St. Jakobshalle Basel. The building was given a generously designed new entrance area, for which the tower had to make way. The entrance area appears simple and elegant at the same time, and its modern appearance is a perfect complement to the new building. The main access to the venue is now at St. Jakobsstrasse, located directly opposite St. Jakobs Park Football Stadium.

Hall of Fame

The foundations for a successful future: We can rely on over 45 years of experience in the concert, event and sports sector.

Since its completion, St. Jakobshalle Basel has been the venue for major events with an impact far beyond the country’s borders. Carlos Santana made start on the 8th of October 1975. From then on, the very top of national and international stars regularly came to Basel to play. Queen, Tina Turner, Dire Straits, Elton John, Johnny Cash or Muse – and countless other top acts have already performed in this arena.

St. Jakobshalle Basel is also proud to have hosted numerous major productions in the event sector. The Cirque du Soleil ensemble, the Dalai Lama, David Copperfield and the TV show «Wetten, dass…» all made guest appearances in Basel, just to name a few. Additionally, and because the arena also offers ideal conditions for major sporting events, Swiss Indoors, CSI Basel (from 2022 Longines CHI Classics Show Jumping & Dressage), and the Night of the Jumps, are regular guests amongst many others.

SJH_HOF_01
SJH_HOF_02
SJH_HOF_03
SJH_HOF_04
SJH_HOF_05
SJH_HOF_06
SJH_HOF_07
SJH_HOF_08
SJH_HOF_09
SJH_HOF_10
SJH_HOF_11
SJH_HOF_12
SJH_HOF_13
SJH_HOF_14
previous arrow
next arrow

1975 Santana | Earth, Wind & Fire | Swiss Indoors

1976 Rory Gallagher | Scorpions | Sailor | Wishbone Ash | Swiss Indoors

1977 Queen | Supertramp | Udo Lindenberg | Swiss Indoors

1978 Joan Baez | Swiss Indoors

1979 Manfred Mann’s Earth Band | Boston | Holiday on Ice | Swiss Indoors

1980 Johnny Cash | Roxy Music | Iron Maiden | KISS | Swiss Indoors

1981 Bob Dylan | Swiss Indoors

1982 Elton John | Neil Young | Toto | Asia | Foreigner | Peter Maffay | Swiss Indoors

1983 Eric Clapton | Wetten, dass..? | Johnny Hallyday | Joan Armatrading | Nazareth | Nena | John Mavall & the Bluesbreakers | Whitesnake | Meat Loaf | KISS | Kim Wilde | Gianna Nannini | Swiss Indoors

1984 Depeche Mode | Status Quo | Mike Oldfield | Mötley Crüe | Iron Maiden | Chris de Burgh | Swiss Indoors

1985 Tina Turner | Dire Straits | Frankie Goes to Hollywood | Krokus | Wetten, dass..? | Nena | Swiss Indoors

1986 Elton John | Wetten, dass..? | Vasco Rossi | Harlem Globetrotters | Swiss Indoors | Handball-WM Herren

1987 Bob Dylan | Tom Petty | Peter Gabriel | Youssou N’Dour | Hair | Swiss Indoors

1988 Whitney Houston | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors | Davis Cup Schweiz-Frankreich | Spanische Hofreitschule Wien | Jesus Christ Superstar

1989 Wetten, dass..? | Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe | Swiss Indoors

1990 Swiss Indoors

1991 Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors | Placido Domingo

1992 Joe Cocker | Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors

1993 Musikantenstadl | Swiss Indoors

1994 Swiss Indoors

1995 Smokie | Showaddywaddy | The Searchers | Sailor | Suzi Quatro | Harpo | Chubby | Pur | The Kelly Family | Udo Jürgens | Aida | David Copperfield | José Carreras | Swiss Indoors

1996 Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors

1997 The Kelly Family | Swiss Indoors

1998 Eishockey WM | Herbert Grönemeyer | Swiss Indoors

1999 Alanis Morissette | Swiss Indoors

2000 Pet Shop Boys | Puff Daddy | DJ BoBo | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors

2001 Swiss Indoors

2002 Alanis Morissette | Swiss Indoors

2003 Swiss Indoors

2004 Bryan Adams | Rammstein | Beastie Boys | Udo Jürgens | Kastelruther Spatzen | Usher | Böhse Onkelz | Anastacia | James Last | Swiss Indoors | Andy Hug Memorial K-1

2005 R.E.M | Green Day | Kylie Minogue | Joe Cocker | Marylin Manson | Avril Lavigne | Die Fantastischen Vier | Mark Knopfler | Queen & Paul Rodgers | DJ BoBo | John Fogerty | Laura Pausini | Kastelruther Spatzen | Swiss Indoors

2006 David Copperfield | Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals | Kastelruther Spatzen | Swiss Indoors

2007 Rihanna | Meat Loaf | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors

2008 Linkin Park | Iron Maiden | James Blunt | Deep Purple | Swiss Indoors

2009 Bob Dylan | Rammstein | Flippers | Nightwish | Swiss Indoors

2010 Eric Clapton | Steve Winwood | Helene Fischer | Nickelback | Leonard Cohen | A-ha | David Garrett | Thirty Seconds to Mars | Swiss Indoors | Masters of Hardcore | Sonisphere | Mika | Airbourne | Sean Paul

2011 Jovanotti | James Blunt | Volbeat | Swiss Indoors | Michael Mittermeier | Kaya Yanar | Manowar | Sonisphere | Unheilig

2012 Muse | Guns N’ Roses | Marilyn Manson | Die Toten Hosen | Helene Fischer | DJ BoBo | David Garrett | Snow Patrol | Mötley Crüe | Gossip | Chris Brown | Swiss Indoors | Earshakerday

2013 Cirque du Soleil | Swiss Indoors | Queens of the Stone Age | Mario Barth | James Last | Bushido | Paul Kalkbrenner | Christmas Tattoo | Sigur Rós

2014 Bligg | DJ BoBo | Box EM | Slash ft. Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators | Swiss Indoors | Bülent Ceylan | Isle of Dreams | Sound of Hollywood | The Australian Pink Floyd Show

2015 Dalai Lama | Mötley Crüe | Manowar | Swiss Indoors | Fitness Expo | Nightwish | Cesar Millan | The Australian Pink Floyd Show | Söhne Mannheims

2016 Swiss Indoors | Curling-WM Herren | The Cure | Martin Rütter | Deichkind | Excalibur | Alter Bridge | Master Hall of Honor | We love MMA

2017 Die Toten Hosen | The XX | Swiss Indoors | Schwanensee | Bülent Ceylan | Christoph Maé | Sabaton

2018 Swiss Indoors | Degenfechten Junioren-Weltcup | Harry Styles | Thirty Seconds to Mars | Michel Sardou | Rock meets Classic | Hans Zimmer & Lisa Gerrard | Andreas Gabalier | Christmas Tattoo

2019 Andrea Bocelli | Mumford & Sons | Swiss Indoors | Hans Zimmer & Lisa Gerrard

2020 Andrea Berg | The Kelly Family I CSI Basel I Art on Ice

2021 Yonex Swiss Open I Kunstturm EM I Night of the Jumps I Flashdance

2022 Yonex Swiss Open I Cavalluna Legende der Wüste I Ghost I Sascha Grammel I Carolin Kebekus

Memberships

The Covid-19 Pandemic has revealed to us how important it is to unify and work together towards common goals. This is relevant for society as a whole as well as for the cultural and event scene. More than 350.000 people work in the Swiss entertainment industry and provide spectacular experiences to around six million visitors and fans each year. That is why St. Jakobshalle Basel supports the following associations as a member:

Perspective Live Entertainment 
Swiss Stadia & Arena
European Arenas Association

X
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

sjh logo

Die Infos.

Für alles.

20‘000 Quadratmetermöglichkeiten

Gut zu wissen

Wir freuen uns, Sie in der St. Jakobshalle Basel begrüssen zu dürfen. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen auf einen Blick.

Covid-19

Der Umgang mit dem Coronavirus stellt uns alle vor grosse Herausforderungen – wirtschaftlich, gesellschaftlich und für jeden und jede von uns ganz persönlich. Als multifunktionalste Halle der Schweiz setzen wir alles daran, die geltenden Bestimmungen von Bund und Kantonen vollumfänglich zu erfüllen, um massgeblich mitzuhelfen, eine dauerhafte Öffnung von grossen und kleinen Veranstaltungen zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen und aktuelle Massnahmen finden Sie auf den folgenden Links:

Kontakt

St. Jakobshalle Basel
St. Jakobs-Strasse 390, CH-4052 Basel
+41 61 317 82 22
Möchten Sie die St. Jakobshalle Basel für einen Event buchen? Verwenden Sie für eine erste Anfrage das Kontaktformular im Veranstalter-Bereich.

Öffnungszeiten

Verwaltung
Montag-Freitag: 09:00-12:00 / 13:30-16:00


Sporteinrichtungen
Montag-Freitag: 08:00-22:00
Samstag/Sonntag: 08:00-17:00

Geschlossene Tage 2022Geschlossene Tage 2023

Newsletter

Nichts verpassen und immer auf dem Laufenden bleiben: Abonnieren Sie ganz einfach unseren Newsletter – und wir sagen Ihnen, was bei uns läuft.
Felder mit einem * sind Pflichtfelder. Ihre Daten werden vertraulich behandelt und nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.

Eingänge

Für Publikumsveranstaltungen befindet sich der Haupteingang direkt bei der Haltestelle «Basel St. Jakob» der Tramlinie 14. Weitere Informationen zu den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln finden Sie auf der Webseite der Basler Verkehrsbetriebe BVB und hier im Kapitel Anfahrt. Je nach Event sind zusätzliche Eingänge möglich; diese werden entsprechend beschildert.

Die Turnhallen und unsere Verwaltung erreichen Sie auf der Rückseite der St. Jakobshalle Basel beim Empfang im Erdgeschoss.
sjh eingänge

Anfahrt

Die St. Jakobshalle Basel liegt am südöstlichen Rand der Stadt Basel und ist sowohl mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln als auch mit Personen- und Lastfahrzeugen bestens erreichbar. Parkplätze stehen im Parkhaus St. Jakob zur Verfügung.

Mit dem Auto

Google Maps
Aus Richtung Luzern/Bern/Zürich
Autobahn A2 in Richtung Basel. Sie durchqueren die Galerie «Schweizerhalle». Achtung: Es besteht Rückstaugefahr. Folgen Sie der Signalisation «Delémont». Nehmen Sie die Ausfahrt «Basel-St. Jakob». Folgen Sie immer der Signalisation «Basel-St. Jakob». Nach der Autobahnausfahrt gelangen Sie an eine Ampel. Halten Sie sich links. Folgen Sie der Signalisation «St. Jakobshalle» durch die Unterführung. Biegen Sie nach der Unterführung rechts ab, um direkt auf den Parkplatz der St. Jakobshalle Basel zu gelangen.
Aus Richtung Delémont/Laufen
Autobahn J18 aus Richtung Delémont in Fahrtrichtung Basel. Nehmen Sie die Ausfahrt «Basel-St. Jakob/Muttenz-Industrie». Nach der Ausfahrt gelangen Sie an eine Ampel. Halten Sie sich auf der linken Fahrspur. Nachdem Sie links abgebogen sind, fahren Sie an der St. Jakobshalle Basel vorbei (linke Seite, rechts Fussballstadion St. Jakob-Park). Halten Sie sich wiederum auf der linken Fahrspur. An der nächsten Ampel biegen Sie links ab und folgen der Park-Signalisation der St. Jakobshalle Basel.
Aus Richtung Deutschland/Frankreich
Autobahn A5 aus Richtung Karlsruhe und Freiburg. Sie gelangen an den Grenzübergang Weil am Rhein. Achtung: Autobahnvignetten-Pflicht. Nach dem Grenzübertritt erscheint die Signalisation «St. Jakob». Folgen Sie der Signalisation «Luzern, Bern, Zürich, Delémont, Basel-Süd/St. Jakob». Nehmen Sie die Ausfahrt «Basel-Süd/St. Jakob». Folgen Sie «Basel-St. Jakob». Nach der Autobahnausfahrt gelangen Sie an eine Ampel. Halten Sie sich links. Folgen Sie der Signalisation «St. Jakobshalle» durch die Unterführung. Biegen Sie nach der Unterführung rechts ab, um direkt auf den Parkplatz der St. Jakobshalle Basel zu gelangen.

Mit den ÖV

Situationsplan
situationsplan
Mit dem Zug
Bis Basel SBB (Schweiz) oder Badischer Bahnhof (Deutschland). Mit halbstündlichen Verbindungen von und nach Zürich (Fahrtdauer 60 Minuten), Bern (80 Minuten), Luzern (80 Minuten), St. Gallen (120 Minuten) und stündlichen Verbindungen nach Genf (180 Minuten). Weitere Infos und Verbindungen unter 
Mit Tram und Bus
Die Haltestelle «St. Jakob» der Tram-Linie 14 und der Buslinie 36 befindet sich unmittelbar vor der St. Jakobshalle. Fahrpläne und Tarife unter www.bvb.ch
Vom Bahnhof SBB
Tram Linie 8, 10 oder 11 bis Station «Aeschenplatz», danach mit Tram Linie 14 nach «St. Jakob» (Fahrtdauer 20 Minuten).
Vom Badischen Bahnhof
Bus-Linie 36 (Haltestelle vor McDonald’s) nach St. Jakob (Fahrtdauer 15 Minuten).

Parking

Im hinteren Bereich der St. Jakobshalle Basel stehen Ihnen 1’478 gebührenpflichtige Parkplätze (davon 424 Aussen- und 1’054 Innenplätze) zur Verfügung. Das Parkhaus St. Jakob  wird vom Kanton Basel-Stadt betrieben und ist während 365 Tagen im Jahr 24 Stunden täglich geöffnet. Weitere Informationen zu Preisen und Anfahrt finden Sie hier.
Zusätzlich bietet das Shopping Center St. Jakob-Park 2’100 gebührenpflichtige Parkplätze . Die Einfahrt ist von Montag bis Samstag jeweils von 06:00-01:00 und am Sonntag von 08:00-01:00 geöffnet; die Ausfahrt ist jederzeit möglich. Weitere Informationen zu Preisen und Anfahrt gibt es hier.

Rollstühle

Die St. Jakobshalle Basel ist teilweise rollstuhlgängig. Für unsere Gäste mit Rollstuhl stehen auf den Aussenparkplätzen unweit des Haupteingangs sechs Behindertenparkplätze zur Verfügung. In unserem Foyer befinden sich ausserdem Rollstuhl-Toiletten mit Eurokey

Wichtig: Je nach Art der Veranstaltung variieren die Rollstuhlplätze; im Bereich Ticketvorverkauf der offiziellen Veranstalter-Webseite erhalten Sie entsprechende Informationen.
sjh rollstühle

Verbotene Gegenstände

Wir möchten, dass sich unsere Gäste jederzeit wohl und sicher fühlen. Beachten Sie deshalb an den jeweiligen Veranstaltungen bitte zwingend unsere Richtlinien betreffend der verbotenen Gegenstände. Dazu gehören auch Getränke und Esswaren.

Unseren Info-Flyer können Sie hier downloaden.
sjh vg 01
Rucksäcke, Koffer,
Taschen,
Handtaschen,
größer als DIN A4
sjh vg 02
Foto, Video- und
Digitalkameras
sowie
Audiogeräte,
Selfisticks,
GoPros etc.
sjh vg 03
PET-Behälter,
Dosen,
Glasflaschen,
Tetrapackungen,
Bierfässer,
Sprühfarbe,
Alkohol
sjh vg 04
Messer, Waffen,
Tränengas,
Pfeffersprays,
Gashörner,
Laserpointer,
Feuerwerke
jeglicher Art,
pyrotechnische
Gegenstände
sjh vg 05
Schirme,
Motorradhelme,
Fahnenstangen,
Taschenschirme
(Knirps) erlaubt
sjh vg 06
Tiere

Fundbüro

Gefundene Wertgegenstände (keine Kleider etc.) aus Veranstaltungen und Sportbetrieb werden bis 14 Tage nach dem Funddatum am Empfang deponiert. Für entsprechende Rückfragen erreichen Sie uns unter der Telefonnummer +41 61 317 82 30. Anschliessend gelangen die Gegenstände ins Fundbüro Baselland. Die gefundenen Objekte werden unter diesem Link publiziert.
Fundbüro und Verwertungsdienst des Kanons Basel-Landschaft
Oristalstrasse 100
CH-4410 Liestal
+41 61 552 71 42

Geschichte

Die Grundsteinlegung der St. Jakobshalle Basel erfolgte am 19.04.1971; am 26.09.1976 wurde sie offiziell eröffnet. Der prägnante Bau von Architekt Giovanni Panozzo und Ingenieur Albert Schmidt wurde als Teil einer grossen Sportanlage Südosten der Stadt Basel konzipiert. In unmittelbarer Nähe der St. Jakobshalle befinden sich das Fussballstadion St. Jakob-Park, die Eishockeyhalle St. Jakob-Arena und die Sportanlage St. Jakob. 
Ausgangslage
Die St. Jakobshalle Basel war zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Erstellung vorbildlich. Im Verlauf der letzten Jahrzehnte haben sich die Veranstaltungen und die Anforderungen aber zum Teil stark verändert. Um diesem Umstand gerecht zu werden, wurde der Komplex der St. Jakobshalle Basel mehrmals baulich angepasst und verändert. Da der Baukomplex in der architektonischen Ausgestaltung unentschlossen wirkte, sollte auch das äussere Erscheinungsbild einer kritischen Betrachtung unterzogen werden. Ein Problem ergab sich aus der Lage des Haupteingangs: Die Brüglingerstrasse mit dem Strasseneinschnitt bot der Halle nicht den benötigten Platz und die Aussenfläche für grosse Veranstaltungen. Der Zugang von der St. Jakobs-Strasse, die das erforderliche Vorfeld bieten kann, wirkte wie ein Nebeneingang und hatte keine Grosszügigkeit.

Letztlich entschied sich der Kanton Basel-Stadt dazu, in einem Wettbewerb die heutigen Bedürfnisse, den Bestand und die notwendigen Anpassungen gesamthaft zu betrachten. Im Jurybericht wird angeregt, bei der Überarbeitung «einen subtileren Umgang mit der ausdrucksstarken Beton-brut-Architektur im Sinne eines denkmalpflegerischen Ansatzes» zu prüfen.

Sanierung und Strategie
Der Projektwettbewerb für die Sanierung und Modernisierung der St. Jakobshalle Basel (Vorprojekt: 2013 / Inbetriebnahme: Oktober 2018) wurde entschieden. Dabei war nicht nur eine moderne Eventhalle gefordert, es wurden Lösungen gesucht, welche eine multifunktionale Nutzung ermöglichen. Ein Basler Planungsteam löste die anspruchsvolle Aufgabe überzeugend. Der 1. Preis ging an Berrel Berrel Kräutler AG in Zusammenarbeit mit Degelo Architekten AG, Basel.

Die Pflicht war die Lösung aller anstehenden Probleme mit der bestehenden Gebäudestruktur, die schon in der Entstehungszeit vor allem statisch bis ins Detail ausgereizt war. In der Machbarkeitsstudie waren Lösungswege dazu bereits angedacht. Diese wurden im laufenden Projekt verfeinert und ausgearbeitet. Die Kür war, den Bestand mit den Neubauteilen zu einer neuen, klaren und starken Identität zu entwickeln. Dabei haben wurden die Qualitäten des Bestandes erhalten und mit Eingriffen neben der funktionalen auch die architektonische Qualität gesteigert, sodass ein stimmiges Gesamtbild entstand, als sei alles von Anfang an so gewesen.

Situation
Die Halle erhielt an der St. Jakobs-Strasse einen neuen Hauptzugang und einen grosszügigen Aussenbereich. Das Strassenniveau wurde über den neu geschaffenen Platz bis ins Gebäude geführt. Mit dem grosszügig aufgespannten Dach wurde die öffentliche Funktion des Gebäudes verdeutlicht, damit Besucherinnen und Besucher würdig empfangen werden können. Im Aussenbereich entstand mit dem Dach ein geschützter Vorbereich und im Inneren ein vergrössertes Foyer, welches alle Funktionen logisch erschliesst.
Realisation und Modernisierung
Die Projektausschreibung des Bau- und Verkehrsdepartements des Kantons Basel-Stadt für die Modernisierung der St. Jakobshalle Basel forderte einerseits eine moderne Eventhalle, andererseits sollten Lösungen gesucht werden, welche eine multifunktionale Nutzung ermöglichen. Das Generalplanerteam von Degelo Architekten AG, Basel, und Berrel Berrel Kräutler, Basel, überzeugte mit seinem Entwurf «Giovanni» – einer Referenz an den Architekten Giovanni Panozzo, der die Halle einst erbaut hatte. So schliesst sich der Kreis zur Entstehung der St. Jakobshalle Basel. Das Gebäude erhielt einen grosszügig gestalteten neuen Eingangsbereich, dem der Turm weichen musste. Der Eingangsbereich wirkt gleichzeitig schlicht und elegant, und mit seiner Aufwertung erhält auch der Hallenkomplex als Ganzes ein optisch grösseres Gewicht. Die Erschliessung erfolgt heute von der St. Jakob-Strasse her, der Eingang liegt damit direkt gegenüber dem Stadion St. Jakob-Park.

Hall of Fame

Das Fundament für eine erfolgreiche Zukunft: Vertrauen Sie auf über 45 Jahre Erfahrung im Konzert-, Event- und Sportbereich.
Seit ihrer Fertigstellung ist die St. Jakobshalle Basel Austragungsort grosser Events mit Strahlkraft weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus. Den Anfang machte Carlos Santana am 08.10.1975. Von da an gab sich ein Who-is-who der nationalen und internationalen Stars in Basel die Ehre und regelmässig die Backstage-Schlüssel in die Hand. Ob Queen, Tina Turner, Dire Straits, Elton John, Johnny Cash oder Muse – sie und unzählige andere Top Acts machten bereits in der St. Jakobshalle Basel Halt.

Auch im Eventbereich blickt die St. Jakobshalle Basel stolz auf zahlreiche Grossproduktionen zurück. So gastierten beispielsweise das Ensemble von Cirque du Soleil, der Dalai Lama, David Copperfield und die TV-Show «Wetten, dass..?» in Basel. Und dass die Halle auch beste Voraussetzungen für grosse Sportveranstaltungen bietet, beweisen unter anderem die jährlich stattfindenden Swiss Indoors, CSI Basel (ab 2022 Longines CHI Classics Springreiten & Dressur) sowie die Night of the Jumps eindrücklich.
sjh info hall of fame carlos santana web
  • sjh hof 01
  • sjh hof 02
  • sjh hof 03
  • sjh hof 04
  • sjh hof 05
  • sjh hof 06
  • sjh hof 07
  • sjh hof 08
  • sjh hof 09
  • sjh hof 10
  • sjh hof 11
  • sjh hof 12
  • sjh hof 13
  • sjh hof 14
1975 – 1985
1975 Santana | Earth, Wind & Fire | Swiss Indoors
 
1976 Rory Gallagher | Scorpions | Sailor | Wishbone Ash | Swiss Indoors
 
1977 Queen | Supertramp | Udo Lindenberg | Swiss Indoors
 
1978 Joan Baez | Swiss Indoors
 
1979 Manfred Mann’s Earth Band | Boston | Holiday on Ice | Swiss Indoors
 
1980 Johnny Cash | Roxy Music | Iron Maiden | KISS | Swiss Indoors
 
1981 Bob Dylan | Swiss Indoors
 
1982 Elton John | Neil Young | Toto | Asia | Foreigner | Peter Maffay | Swiss Indoors
 
1983 Eric Clapton | Wetten, dass..? | Johnny Hallyday | Joan Armatrading | Nazareth | Nena | John Mavall & the Bluesbreakers | Whitesnake | Meat Loaf | KISS | Kim Wilde | Gianna Nannini | Swiss Indoors
 
1984 Depeche Mode | Status Quo | Mike Oldfield | Mötley Crüe | Iron Maiden | Chris de Burgh | Swiss Indoors
 
 
1985 – 1995
1985 Tina Turner | Dire Straits | Frankie Goes to Hollywood | Krokus | Wetten, dass..? | Nena | Swiss Indoors
 
1986 Elton John | Wetten, dass..? | Vasco Rossi | Harlem Globetrotters | Swiss Indoors | Handball-WM Herren
 
1987 Bob Dylan | Tom Petty | Peter Gabriel | Youssou N’Dour | Hair | Swiss Indoors
 
1988 Whitney Houston | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors | Davis Cup Schweiz-Frankreich | Spanische Hofreitschule Wien | Jesus Christ Superstar
 
1989 Wetten, dass..? | Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe | Swiss Indoors
 
1990 Swiss Indoors
 
1991 Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors | Placido Domingo
 
1992 Joe Cocker | Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors
 
1993 Musikantenstadl | Swiss Indoors
 
1994 Swiss Indoors
 
1995 – 2005
1995 Smokie | Showaddywaddy | The Searchers | Sailor | Suzi Quatro | Harpo | Chubby | Pur | The Kelly Family | Udo Jürgens | Aida | David Copperfield | José Carreras | Swiss Indoors
 
1996 Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors
 
1997 The Kelly Family | Swiss Indoors
 
1998 Eishockey WM | Herbert Grönemeyer | Swiss Indoors
 
1999 Alanis Morissette | Swiss Indoors
 
2000 Pet Shop Boys | Puff Daddy | DJ BoBo | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors
 
2001 Swiss Indoors
 
2002 Alanis Morissette | Swiss Indoors
 
2003 Swiss Indoors
 
2004 Bryan Adams | Rammstein | Beastie Boys | Udo Jürgens | Kastelruther Spatzen | Usher | Böhse Onkelz | Anastacia | James Last | Swiss Indoors | Andy Hug Memorial K-1
 
2005 – 2015
2005 R.E.M | Green Day | Kylie Minogue | Joe Cocker | Marylin Manson | Avril Lavigne | Die Fantastischen Vier | Mark Knopfler | Queen & Paul Rodgers | DJ BoBo | John Fogerty | Laura Pausini | Kastelruther Spatzen | Swiss Indoors
 
2006 David Copperfield | Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals | Kastelruther Spatzen | Swiss Indoors
 
2007 Rihanna | Meat Loaf | Wetten, dass..? | Swiss Indoors
 
2008 Linkin Park | Iron Maiden | James Blunt | Deep Purple | Swiss Indoors
 
2009 Bob Dylan | Rammstein | Flippers | Nightwish | Swiss Indoors
 
2010 Eric Clapton | Steve Winwood | Helene Fischer | Nickelback | Leonard Cohen | A-ha | David Garrett | Thirty Seconds to Mars | Swiss Indoors | Masters of Hardcore | Sonisphere | Mika | Airbourne | Sean Paul
 
2011 Jovanotti | James Blunt | Volbeat | Swiss Indoors | Michael Mittermeier | Kaya Yanar | Manowar | Sonisphere | Unheilig
 
2012 Muse | Guns N’ Roses | Marilyn Manson | Die Toten Hosen | Helene Fischer | DJ BoBo | David Garrett | Snow Patrol | Mötley Crüe | Gossip | Chris Brown | Swiss Indoors | Earshakerday
 
2013 Cirque du Soleil | Swiss Indoors | Queens of the Stone Age | Mario Barth | James Last | Bushido | Paul Kalkbrenner | Christmas Tattoo | Sigur Rós
 
2014 Bligg | DJ BoBo | Box EM | Slash ft. Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators | Swiss Indoors | Bülent Ceylan | Isle of Dreams | Sound of Hollywood | The Australian Pink Floyd Show
 
ab 2015
2015 Dalai Lama | Mötley Crüe | Manowar | Swiss Indoors | Fitness Expo | Nightwish | Cesar Millan | The Australian Pink Floyd Show | Söhne Mannheims
 
2016 Swiss Indoors | Curling-WM Herren | The Cure | Martin Rütter | Deichkind | Excalibur | Alter Bridge | Master Hall of Honor | We love MMA
 
2017 Die Toten Hosen | The XX | Swiss Indoors | Schwanensee | Bülent Ceylan | Christoph Maé | Sabaton
 
2018 Swiss Indoors | Degenfechten Junioren-Weltcup | Harry Styles | Thirty Seconds to Mars | Michel Sardou | Rock meets Classic | Hans Zimmer & Lisa Gerrard | Andreas Gabalier | Christmas Tattoo
 
2019 Andrea Bocelli | Mumford & Sons | Swiss Indoors | Hans Zimmer & Lisa Gerrard
 
2020 Andrea Berg | The Kelly Family
 

Mitgliedschaften

Die Covid-19-Pandemie hat uns gezeigt, wie wichtig es ist, zusammenzuhalten und Ziele gemeinsam in Angriff zu nehmen. Dies betrifft sowohl die ganze Gesellschaft als auch die Kultur- und Event-Szene. Über 350’000 Menschen arbeiten in der Schweizer Live-Unterhaltungsbranche und bieten jährlich rund sechs Millionen Besucherinnen, Besuchern und Fans spektakuläre Erlebnisse. Deshalb unterstützt die St. Jakobshalle Basel als Mitglied folgende Vereinigungen:

Allgemeine Informationen

MWST-Nummer
CHE-114.723.789 MWST.

Postkontoverbindung
Konto 40-20343-7
IBAN CH64 0900 0000 4002 0343 7

Bankkontoverbindung
UBS Switzerland AG | 4410 Liestal
Konto 233-10314838.0
IBAN CH73 0023 3233 1031 4838 0
BIC: UBSWCHZH80A
sjh logo neg
St. Jakobs-Strasse 390, CH-4052 Basel
+41 61 317 82 22
StJakobshalle@bs.ch
Newsletter abonnieren
©2022 St. Jakobshalle Basel | Datenschutz | Impressum
chevron-downchevron-up-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram